The 2014 Eco-Logic Awards finalists have been selected. The awards identify and give recognition to individuals, organisations, products and services that are making a real and measurable difference in creating a more sustainable world to live in.


Eco-Logic Awards

Each year Enviropaedia, in association with SABC 3, invites eco-champions in 12 environmental categories to showcase their contribution to a sustainable society and environment.

A team of highly respected, environmentally-aware individuals judge all entries using seven criteria that are the ‘roots’ of Eco-Logic, namely care for the earth, long-term thinking, holistic thinking, Ubuntu, quality-based (meta-physical) values, innovation and emotional and intuitive intelligence.

The 2014 Eco-Logic Award winners will be announced at a gala event at the Maropeng World Heritage site in Gauteng on the 17 September 2014.

“It is refreshing to see such a strong shift and commitment to recycling and minimising waste,” says Zimasa Velaphi, marketing and communication manager for Collect-a-Can, sponsor of the recycling award. “We applaud all the entries for their contribution to the recycling industry and through that creating a sustainable future for our children.”


The finalists

After a national call for entries, the following finalists have been selected:

Biodiversity Award

  • EWT – National Biodiversity and Business Network
  • North Durban Honorary Officers
  • WESSA Blue Flag Programme

Climate Change Award

  • Credible Carbon
  • Food and Trees
  • Pick ‘n Pay
  • Standard Bank

Eco-Innovation Award

  • Afrisam
  • Ecospecifier Global GreenTag South Africa
  • City of Cape Town & Shark Spotters
  • Touching the Earth Lightly – The Lighthouse

Energy Saving Award

  • Growthpoint Properties
  • Hotel Verde
  • Paarl Media
  • The Lightie (Michael Suttner)

Recycling Award

  • Bay Harbour Market
  • Plastics SA
  • Wattville Ithuseng Recycling Co-op
  • Vineyard Hotel

Transport Award

  • Bicycle Empowerment Network (BEN)
  • Blendwell Chemicals
  • City of Johannesburg Rea-Vaya Bus Rapid Transit
  • FindALift

Water Conservation Award

  • Dusi-uMngeni Conservation Trust (DUCT)
  • Eco-Pools
  • WESSA Eco-Schools
  • Woolworths

Municipalities Award

  • City of Cape Town – Mayor’s Portfolio of Urban Sustainability
  • City of Johannesburg – Green Bond
  • eThekwini Municipality – DSW
  • Mossel Bay Municipality

Eco-Community Award

  • Greenpop
  • Miss Earth;
  • Msobomvu Community
  • Princess Vlei Forum

Eco-Youth Award

  • Blake Anthony Combrinck
  • John Lucas
  • Joshua Nunn
  • Malukhanye Steven Mbopha

Eco-Angel Award

  • Annie Beckhelling – Cheetah Outreach
  • Joe Matimba – Make Africa Green
  • Kerryn Morrison – EWT African Crane Conservation
  • Zaitoon Rabaney – BOTSOC

Eco-Warrior Award

  • Catherine Constantinides – Miss Earth
  • Kelvin Cochrane – Princess Vlei Forum
  • Karen Allen – EWT Dugong Emergency Protection Project
  • Quinton Martins – Cape Leopard Trust