Climate researcher Klaus Hasselmann receives the Nobel Prize in Physics

The Nobel Prize for Physics this year goes to the German Klaus Hasselmann from the Max Planck Institute for Meteorology in Hamburg, the Japanese researcher Syukuro Manabe at Princeton University in the USA and the Italian Giorgio Parisi from the University of Rome for her contribution to the understanding of complex systems.

This was announced by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences on Tuesday afternoon. Hasselmann and Manabe share half of the price, the other half goes to Giorgio Parisi.

[Wenn Sie aktuelle Nachrichten aus Berlin, Deutschland und der Welt live auf Ihr Handy haben wollen, empfehlen wirIhnen unsere App, die Siehier für Apple- und Android-Geräteherunterladen können.]

“Three winners share this year’s Nobel Prize in Physics for their studies of chaotic and seemingly random phenomena. Syukuro Manabe and Klaus Hasselmann laid the foundation for our knowledge of the earth’s climate and how humanity influences it. ”

“ The discoveries that were awarded this year show that our knowledge of the Climate is based on a solid scientific foundation that is based on thorough analysis of observations, “said Thors Hans Hansson, chairman of the Nobel Committee on Physics Identify the climate system by showing that the observed warming cannot be explained by natural factors.

Giorgio Parisi is responsible for his contribution to the theory of the interplay of disordered and random processes of atomic excellent up to the planetary level.

The first winner was the German physicist Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen

Last year, a German had already received a Nobel Prize in Physics: the Astrophy Reinhard Genzel. The Nobel Prizes are again worth ten million Swedish kronor (around 980. 000 euros ) Per category.

Genzel and the US researcher Andrea Ghez 2020 received one half of the prize, while the other Half went to the British Roger Penrose. The three were honored for their research into black holes.

Overall, 215 winners have the US researcher John Bardeen has received two awards in the physics category. The first of them was the German physicist Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen, who received the award 1901 for the discovery of the X-rays named after him.

The physics award and the other scientific awards often go to two or three scientists who have researched either together or in the same subject. David Julius (USA) and Lebanon-born Ardem Patapoutian had already been awarded the Nobel Prize for Medicine on Monday. The two of them discovered cell receptors through which people perceive temperature and touch.

[Lesen Sie auch: Nobelpreisträger Reinhard Genzel über Schwarze Löcher: “Die Nachbargalaxie Andromeda ist auf Kollisionskurs” (T+)]

The prestigious Nobel medals and diplomas are traditionally awarded on 10. December, the anniversary of the death of prize donor and dynamite inventor Alfred Nobel (1833 – 1896).

Who will be honored together with the awardees in medicine and physics will be decided in the next few days: On Wednesday, the winners in chemistry will also be announced by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences on Thursday will be followed by the announcement of the Nobel Prize for Literature in the Swedish Academy.

On Friday, the Nobel Peace Prize will be awarded in Oslo, and the next Monday in Stockholm the Prize for Economics, which will be the only one not to open Nobel’s will goes back. (Tsp, dpa)

Back to top button